AEA Volunteer Opportunities

AEA values member input and engagement, relying on your guidance and knowledge about the field in the development of programs for our membership. We also value diversity when building a volunteer base to better serve and represent our unique, global community of evaluators.

AEA volunteer roles must:

  1. Contribute to the fulfillment of AEA’s governance and operations while concurrently building member capacity and leadership;
  2. Democratically draw on—and contribute to—valuing diverse experiences, talents, and ways of knowing, as well as diverse racial, ethnic, gender, and cultural backgrounds;
  3. Contribute to trust, respect, ownership, responsibility, and timeliness of interaction within AEA; and
  4. Draw on both individual and collective voices.

Complete the volunteer opportunities form to become a contributing member of the AEA community. While you may submit an application for most Working Groups, those with a membership status that indicates 'Open' are actively seeking members on a rolling basis and will receive top priority in placement.

Volunteer Form

Abstract Reviewers

Charge: To assist Topical Interest Group (TIG) leaders in reviewing presentation abstracts submitted for consideration for the Annual Conference. Volunteer inquiries should be made directly to TIG leaders or during the proposal submission process. Visit to find a list of TIG leaders.

Task Forces

Evaluation Task Force

Charge: The Evaluation Task Force is charged with determining the scope and costs of conducting an evaluation to determine the AEA board’s effectiveness under Policy Governance, identify gaps, and generate recommendations.

Members: Jennifer Heetner (Co-Chair), Abdulsamad Humaidan (Co-Chair), Tatiana Bustos, Rhonda Williams, Tom Grayson, Ying He

Evaluation Policy Task Force

Members: Nick Hart (Chair), Lisa Aponte-Soto, Esther Nolton (AEA Board Liaison), Nicole Bowman, Katherine Dawes, Diana Epstein, Mel Mark, Kathryn Newcomer, Demetra Nightingale, Gregory Phillips, Leslie Fierro, Meg Hargreaves, Ted Knicker, Christina Yancey

Publications Task Force 

Charge: To maintain the association’s journals’ longstanding excellence and to increase visibility, readership, impact, and relevance to evaluation professionals and scholars.

Members: Tom Archibald (Chair), Wanda Casillas, Rodney Hopson, Melvin Mark, Sarah Mason, Bianca Montrosse-Moorhead, Nadini Persaud, Laura Peck, Maurice Samuels, Cynthia Williams, Thomas Widmer, Brian Yates, Guili Zhang

Working Groups

Awards Working Group

Charge: To review AEA awards applications and select awardees based on established criteria.

Members: Eric Barela (Co-Chair), Rhonda Williams (Co-Chair), Felicia Bohanon, Sharon Attipoe-Dorcoo, Stuart Henderson, Susana Morales, Kathi Trawver, Tatiana Bustos, Corey Newhouse

Conference Advisory Working Group

Charge: To assist AEA in reviewing possible changes to conference structure and evaluating potential innovations. 

Members:  Jan Noga, Nnenia Campbell, Stanley Capela, Linda Vo, Lycia Neumann, Dana Wanzer, Tom Chapel

Nominations & Elections Working Group

Charge: To recruit and evaluate member applicants in creation of an annual election slate for Board approval.

Members: Tiffany Tovey (Chair), Tamarah Moss, Monique Liston, Natasha Monteith, Taiwo Adesoba, Beeta Tahmassebi (AEA Board Liaison)

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Working Group

Charge: To recommend for adoption by the AEA Board, a contemporary statement on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion that will frame the operational and governance work of the association; to review existing indicators and measures of diversity, equity, and inclusion, and to identify gaps which shall form the basis of the Executive Director’s annual “State of the Association” monitoring report on diversity, equity and inclusion provided to the Board of Directors. The report findings will serve as a basis for action plans by the board and staff, to recommend indicators and measures of diversity, equity, and inclusion relevant to the governance of the Association to be used in future evaluation of board performance and to systematically examine association policies and procedures through a lens of diversity, equity and inclusion.

Members: Vidhya Shanker (Co-Chair), Nisaa Kirtman (Co-Chair), Elizabeth Taylor-Schiro (Co-Chair), Donna Mertens, Kantahyanee Murray, James Groh, Asma Ali, Ayesha Boyce, David Sul, Diana Lemos (Latinx Responsive Discourse TIG Liaison), Dylan Felt (LBGTQ+ TIG Liaison)

International Working Group

Charge: To assist management with the development of international outreach and AEA’s international presence/programs.

Members: Heather Britt (Chair), Scott Chaplowe, Cindy Clapp-Wincek, Amy Gray, Amy Catherine Jersild, Maria Montenegro, Svetlana Negroustoueva, Hubert Paulmer, Deborah Rugg, Jim Rugh, Mónica Ruiz-Casares, Michele Tarsilla, Alyna Wyatt, Alejandra Garcia Diaz Villamil

Local Arrangement Working Group (Conference)

Charge: To assist management with the coordination of conference outreach and logistics in the conference host city.

Members: Chari Smith (Chair)

Professional Development Working Group

Charge: To provide suggestions and input on the professional development offerings through AEA including eStudies, Coffee Breaks, and PD Workshops at the annual conference and Summer Institute.

Members: Sheila Robinson, Leah Neubauer, Linda Vo, Susan Wolfe, Sondra LaRoe, Daniel Kidder, Ann Price, Lisanne Brown, Tom Archibald, Kristianna Pettibone, Tom Chapel, Mindelyn Anderson, Maureen Wilce

Research Mailing List Request Working Group

Charge: To assist in considering the requests for AEA member lists for research purposes

Members: Nahima Ahmed, Tarek Azzam, Joaquina Scott Kankam, Krisanna Machtmes

Student Case Competition Working Group

Charge: To recruit and support a team to represent North America in the global Student Evaluation Case Competition.

Members: Dana Linnell, Asma Ali, Rana Gautam, Steven Mumford, Julian Nyamupachitu, Christine Roseveare, Jennifer Yessis, Meg Johnson, Gabriel Keney, Carolina De La Rosa Mateo, Brianna Crumly, Elena Polush, Jonathan Morell


Volunteering in a Working Group requires a commitment to AEA and the assigned program/project. The work product of each Working Group is outlined in individual Charge Documents that also address deadline expectations. Meeting scheduling and frequency for each Working Group are established through consultation between the Working Group members and AEA.